Gen 1 – Chapter Thirty nine – Caleb and Lucy

Caleb and Lucy’s relationship had been a slow process until Lucy was prompted to give her boyfriend some very stressful news.

“I know that we had decided to take our relationship very slow but I’m pregnant.” Lucy blurted out as she led out a gasp of air that she didn’t even know she was holding in.
“Is there something you can take to not have the baby?” Caleb asked and slapped his forehead as he realised his mistake.
“I know you don’t want kids and that’s fine, I can take care of the baby myself but I’m keeping this baby.” Lucy replied before getting up to pack her clothing.


Luckily, Caleb realised that he didn’t want to lose the love of his life nor his unborn child and managed to stop Lucy from leaving.

As the months followed, Caleb had been considering proposing to Lucy unfortunately when he finally gets around to proposing Lucy declines.

“I’m don’t want you to feel like you have to do this because I’m pregnant.” Lucy sighed as she pushed the ring away.
“I’m not, I love you Lucy.” Caleb replied as he looked at his pregnant girlfriend.
“I’m just not ready for marriage.” Lucy relies solemnly.

Near to the time that Lucy was soon to give birth to the baby, Arielle decided to stop by.

“I’ve spent all morning trying to come up with a name for the baby, it’s useless. I dislike everything, I think it’s my hormones.” Lucy said as she passed her simpad to Arielle.
“Girl names? Your having a daughter?” Arielle asked brightly as she scrolled through the list.
“I don’t actually know, I’d love a daughter. Although honestly, I think I’m having a boy.” Lucy replied

Before Arielle left to go home, Lucy asked her if she would like to accompany her to the hospital when she goes in to labour if Caleb is at work to which Arielle felt honoured and cheerfully accepted.

Leave a Reply

