Gen 4 – Chapter Ninety – Auntie Paige

Paige Turner had always been apart of Georgia’s life since childhood but having to live in Aurora skies whilst she took her Librarian masters at university, had caused the friends to miss out on certain events of each other’s lives but still they had remained close friends. A few weeks before Georgia was to give birth to her second child, Paige had returned back to her hometown of Oasis springs and had taken a job in the local library. When Georgia had gone into labour, Paige had offered to take care of Nalia and as soon as Nalia had arrived at Paige’s house, the young child hugged her aunt.


“Auntie Paige?” Nalia asked shyly “Mommy said that you helped find my name, is that true?”
“I suppose so.” Paige replied with a small smile.
“Do you know what my name means?” Nalia asked curiously.
“Lioness.” Paige replied and laughed as Nalia looked at her with interest. “You see, your parents wanted a strong name but could not agree on the perfect name for you and when I heard you cry, you had such a roar on you that I searched the name dictionary for Lioness meanings and read the list of names out to your parents and your parents chose the name Nalia from the list.”


Later that evening, Nalia asked Paige if she would read her a story and so for the rest of the evening both Nalia and Paige emerged themselves in a world of literature.

The following day Paige took Nalia to Magnolia blossom park and while Paige sat upon the bench reading a book, Nalia played on the pirate ship whilst she sang the song Roar by Katy Perry.

“Louder, louder than a lion, ’cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar.” Nalia sang as she slide doen the slide.

It was a few days later and Nalia was once again talking to Paige on the sofa.

“Auntie Paige, do you like working in the library.” Nalia asked
“I do, I love spending my day amongst all the books that I could possibly wish to read.” Paige replied honestly.
“Oh, well I thought that if you wanted to you could buy the bookshop that is closing down in Willow Creek.” Nalia replied sadly.
“My grandfather had a bookstore when I was at school, I never imagined that I would have a bookstore of my own. Though the thought of a bookstore closing, does have me interested.” Paige replied as her mind considered the possibility of having her own bookstore.
“Really?” Nalia asked with excitement.
“Yes, really.” Paige replied with amusement in her tone. “If I was to purchase the bookstore, I would need help thinking of a name.”
“I can help.” Nalia offered and then began naming book related names off with her fingers.
“Dumpling-Bookling sounds like fun, I would definitely shop there.” Paige interrupted with a bright smile.

Leave a Reply

